The Rector

A native of Broken Hill in outback New South Wales, Fr Kenneth comes from a teaching background, having taught in New South Wales and South Australian state High Schools, teaching Music, and later at Trinity College in Gawler (SA) where he was the Administrator of the School, as well as Head of the English, Religious Studies, and Music Departments.

Fr Kenneth undertook his Theological Degree when he was a novice with the Society of the Sacred Mission (an Anglican Religious Order, then based in Adelaide), through Flinders University. Much of his parish ministry has taken place in the Diocese of Riverina in the parishes of Broken Hill/Menindee, Mulwala, Barellan and Corowa.

Fr Kenneth moved to Melbourne in 2004 on the invitation of Bp Andrew Curnow, to be the Vicar of Thomastown/Epping. During his time in that parish he set up the establishment of a large Child Care Centre in the parish. In 2007 Fr Kenneth did a short ministry at the Mission to Seafarers in the city and spent six months in the Sudanese Welfare Office in the  Parish of Footscray. He then spent 7 years as the Vicar of St Andrew's, Aberfeldie and Chaplain at Overnewton Anglican Community College before coming to Far North Queensland in August 2014.



Parish Clergy


Rev'd Deborah Kachel

 Rev'd Eric Pitt

Rev'd Ethel Woods




Past Clergy in the Parish of Mossman/Port Douglas


Rev'd B. Bryant (1898-1900)

Rev'd W. Wilkinson (1900-1902)

Rev'd T. Pitt (1902-1904)

Rev'd E. Taffs (1904-1950)

Rev'd C. Ware (1950-1955)

Rev'd A. McFarland (1955-1961)

Rev'd E. Gribble (1961-1965)

Rev'd R. Atkins (1965-1969)

Rev'd F. Morrey (1970-1973)

Rev'd S. Batten (1974)

Rev'd A. Morrison (1974-1983)

Rev'd M. Babbage (1984-1989)

Rev'd T. Williams (1989-1994)

Rev'd B. Paterson (1994-1999)

Rev'd G McLeod (2001-2002)

Rev'd C. Ford (2003-2007)

Rev'd T Morris (2008)

Rev'd P Beasley (2009-2013)

Rev'd Dr K. Lay (2014-   )